101 Things to Shoot Before I Die: January 2010 Update

Well, SE Asia is fun. Lots of fun. So fun, in fact, that I knocked off four items from my list and added one that should have been on there (I’ll probably have a list 1000 long like this when I do kick the bucket). Not a bad start to 2010. Not a bad start at all. And with six months on the road coming up starting in June, I’m hoping to smash through a dozen more. Here’s to a big year!

  • Like always, text was written before my visit, unless otherwise noted.

Angkor Wat

Angkor, Cambodia

COMPLETE: January 5th, 2010

Angkor Wat is another one of those ancient sites I knew relatively little about before my sojourn to Asia, but now it’s high atop my list of culturally significant places to visit (thanks in no small part to the photographs of Joe Tursi). I know nothing about the Hindu religion or Khmer architecture, save for what Apu of The Simpsons has taught me.

Thrills – ***

Cost – **

Difficulty – *

BDS – *

Photo – *****

Phi Phi. Not like the dog.

Phuket, Thailand

COMPLETE: December 27th, 2009 – December 3rd, 2010

Thailand_24828x-2

I could probably compile a list of 50 things to do in Thailand alone, but island hopping along the southern coast appeals to me in a big way. Waterfalls, fresh seafood and crystal blue water make me happy. Pirates, buggery and hepatitis do not.

Thrills – *****

Cost – ***

Difficulty – *

BDS – ***

Photo – *****

Bangkok Dangerous

Bangkok, Thailand

COMPLETE: December 26th, 2009

Thailand_23381

What’s better than a Thai hooker? Two things – lobster and Mexican hats. I didn’t know much about Thailand before I came to Asia but now that most of my friends have been over for a spell I can’t wait to go. I want to drink a little snake blood in a back alley, play spot the ladyboy, pick up some cheap coke (for medicinal purposes) and survive on the streets for a few weeks without being fleeced for all I’m worth. All of this is a precursor to the extended Thailand island hopping adventure. Perhaps watching The Beach while writing this segment was a bad idea.

Thrills – ****

Cost – **

Commitment – *

Difficulty – **

BDS – ***

Photo – ****

Miss Saigon

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

COMPLETE: January

I’ll admit that I know relatively nothing about Vietnam – the war or the country – but hey, that’s what happens when you take history lessons from John J Rambo until you’re 14 years old. I’d love to do parts of this country during a months-long Cambodia/Thailand/Laos/Vietnam adventure, but we’ll have to see if I can sneak away from real life for that long.

Thrills – *****

Cost – **

Difficulty – **

BDS – **

Photo – *****

*Mighty Mekong

Mekong Delta, Vietnam

COMPLETE: January 11th, 2010

I’m an idiot. How was the Mekong Delta not on this list? How did I have only one Vietnamese location on this list? Shows how much I know… We started our Mekong adventure with a night on a boat/restaurant in Chau Doc, did a home stay on an island out in the muddy waters then took the slow boat up the river to Vinh Long before shooting out to Saigon. Maybe the most fun I’ve never had on the water. (* New addition)

Thrills – ****

Cost – **

Difficulty – *

BDS – **

Photo – *****

3 thoughts on “101 Things to Shoot Before I Die: January 2010 Update

    • Hey, Thanks!
      It’s actually one frame, and no post save for vibrancy; the effect was created using a graduated Tobacco filter from the Cokin-P system. Cheers!

  1. Pingback: In Deep Curry: Part 7 « Flash Parker

Leave a Reply

