Project 366: Week 1

I’ve neglected my blog for a while now, but only because I’ve been working on 101 different things. Like shooting to pay the bills and keep the water hot. I don’t know if you know this about me, but I hate taking cold showers in the dark. Hate it.

One of the things I’ve been working on is a personal project that, in a lot of ways, is designed to help me in my professional work. That’s the idea behind my Project 366, at any rate, and so far it has been quite a bit of fun. Time will tell if real life gets in the way of completing this thing, or if I suddenly get interested in something else (Hot Yoga is a contender), but I don’t foresee any significant breaks in the action for the next little while.

Rather than wait to break down each photo at the end of the week, I’ve been including detailed walkthroughs with my posts on flickr and Facebook. Going forward, I’m only going to be including the info on the Facebook images – so hit the link to my page, LIKE said page, and follow along, if you feel so inclined.

I’ve had a lot of fun with this project so far – and there’s plenty of gooey goodness ready to see the light of day. I have a few alternate versions and supplemental material to go through as well.

The Story.
Back in February I started work on a project. The genesis of that project was to craft a workbook of my favorite lighting designs, and to push myself to try new techniques. I wanted to do something that would keep me busy in the dead of winter and while I wasn’t on assignment, but it grew and grew and grew… and left me with this mess.

And thus this Project 366 was born.  The goal is to use, shape, mod and mold light 366 different ways. It’s an ambitious goal, and I can tell you from time to time I stumble. Sometimes I fall flat on my face. Not every one of the images included are world-beaters, but then some of them never were designed to be. I’ve held back from posting this for quite some time because I wanted to make sure that I could see it through – if I’m out shooting all day on assignment, sometimes the last thing I want to do is come home and shoot some more. But I did it, all for the sake of light. And now I’m going to share it.

 

USA_96681x

USA_96738-2x2

USA_96888x2

USA_96863x

USA_97016x_pp2

USA_97146-3x-2

USA_97190-2x-3

Leave a Reply

